Sun Records
  • Episodes

    • Season 1

Sun Records  


Set in Memphis during the tumultuous early days of the civil rights movement, Sun Records tells the untold story of nothing less than the birth of rock ‘n’ roll. Guided by Sam Phillips, young musicians like Johnny Cash, Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins and Jerry Lee Lewis combined the styles of hillbilly country with the 1950s R&B sound created by artists like Muddy Waters, B.B. King, Fats Domino and Ike Turner, and changed the course of music forever. The series chronicles the young artists’ often jarring and sudden meteoric rise to fame in the face of sweeping political change and social unrest.


First Aired Thursday, 23rd February 2017
Channel CMT
Country US
Airing Thursday at 10:00pm
Duration 60 minutes
Episodes 8
Status Ended

Recent Episodes

Back to Top